1. The Resident Representative Council (RRC) Shah Alam was established in March 2003 and was officially launched by YAB Dato’ Menteri Besar of Selangor. With the establishment of the RRC, the Shah Alam City Council (MBSA) district administration was divided into 12 zones. 

  2. However, the State Government, through the Local Government Meetings Bil3. / 2008, ordered all Selangor Local Authorities to establish 24 RRC zones.

​​Goals for Setting up RRC ​

  1. Strengthening and streamlining the functions and duties of the Council. 

  2. Strengthening the role of Councillors as a connecting agent between Council and residents. 

  3. Being an intermediary to channel complaints, requests, problems and needs of the population to the Council. 

  4. Encouraging community participation in all activities organized by the Council. 

  5. Monitoring activities carried out by various residents' associations in the zone. 

  6. Implementing Local Agenda 21 activities towards SUSTAINABLE development.

Organisation Structure​

The organizational structure of the RRC is divided into two levels:

  1. Main  RRC 

  2. Zone RRC

Administration Structure​

Advisor​ ​: The Mayor​​
Chairman​ :​ Deputy Mayor​
​​​Deputy Secretary ​: ​​​Deputy Secretary​
​Secretary​ ​: ​​​Corporate Director​
​​​​Treasurer​ ​: ​​Director of Finance​​
​​Members of the Committee​ ​: All Council Members​
​: ​​​​​​Director of ​Department
​: Head of Division​
​: ​​Branch Manager​

Job Specifications of the Main RRC             

  1. Meeting once every 3 months - Resident Representative Council Special Committee. 

  2. The authority to appoint and dismiss RRC ZONE committee member. 

  3. Implement and monitor all kinds of activities in the zone. 

  4. Planning & control of the annual budget.​​​​​