Establishment Of Shah Alam


Shah Alam administration began with the establishment of MPSA on December 7, 1978 in accordance to Act 71, the Local Government Act. MPSA establishment was concurrent with the declaration of Shah Alam city as the capital of Selangor. However, the administration of MPSA fully operated on January 1, 1979.

The administration of MPSA started at a shop house in Section 3. The number of employees was 123 and most of them were employees of the Town Board. This board was specially established under the administration of PKNS to administer Shah Alam. When MPSA started to operate, the Selangor State Government Secretary automatically served as the 'Yang Dipertua' or the President.

Since the 'Yang Dipertua' or the President was not available for full time, an Assistant Secretary has been appointed to assist the duties of the 'Yang Dipertua' or the President. On February 1, 1979, the Secretary post was created and Mr. Abu Sujak bin Mahmud was appointed to that position. Only in 1988, MPSA received a full-time 'Yang Dipertua' or President. The 'Yang Dipertua' or the President's post was subsequently converted into the Mayor post when Shah Alam was given city status on 10 October 2000.

In 1981 MPSA administration moved to Level 1 and 2 PKNS Complex. Then in October 1988, MPSA has moved to its own building of Wisma MPSA. The 28-storey building which is worth RM141 million is able to accommodate all MPSA departments which is now has been upgraded to the status of MBSA under the same roof.

Bangunan MBSA